Welcome

An intro to my new site

Hi! Thanks for visiting insidethenumbeRs.

A little bit about me first. I’m currently completing my PhD within the Sports Performance, Recovery, Injury and New Technologies (SPRINT) Research Centre at Australian Catholic University, where my research is exploring the utility of inertial sensors to quantify running stride characteristics in sport. I have a passion for sports science and analytics, especially as it relates to wearable technology and activity monitoring. I’m also a bit of a numbers guy (likely the inner nerd in me coming out 🤓), getting my kicks out of taking sports data in its rawest form and turning it into something that’s meaningful and easily digestible to others.

I’m excited to launch my site and start sharing some content that I hope you will find insightful and informative. I created insidethenumbeRs as a platform to communicate my research, offer some discussion on sports science/analytics topics and share some tips and tricks on coding in R. Working with data is becoming an increasingly important skill to have, therefore part of the motivation behind insidethenumbeRs is to provide some instructional content as it relates to performing common analytical tasks in R. Its hoped that students and practitioners view this site as a useful resource for learning and further developing the skills necessary to manipulate, summarise and visualise data that may ultimately facilitate research and analytics workflow.

So, there you have it. I very much look forward to sharing lots of exciting content with you along the way. Be sure to follow me on Twitter to stay informed of when new contributions to insidethenumbeRs drop and don’t hesitate to reach out if you have any questions or would like to talk shop. I’m always keen to connect with likeminded people. Be sure to check out SPRINT, too, as there’s lots of really cool research happening within the centre that you may be interested in following.

Ben Horsley
Ben Horsley
PhD Candidate